India to offer e-visas to 150 countries from March 2016

India will offer e-visas to tourists from 150 countries
India will offer e-visas to tourists from 150 countries

India will expand its e-visa scheme to 150 countries next year, it has been confirmed.

Dr Mahesh Sharma, India’s Minister for Tourism, Culture & Civil Aviation, confirmed recently that the tourist visa service would be expanded in March 2016.

More than 150,000 people from 76 countries have used to e-visa since its introduction in November last year. Applicable visitors can apply for the visas online prior to arrival in India, and then receive their visas upon entry at nine airports in the country.

Meanwhile, Dr Sharma has also revealed that India’s tourist helpline will be expanded to 12 international languages within two months. The helpline is currently operational in just two languages: English and Hindi.

India’s government, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is focusing on its tourism industry, with the aim of receiving 1% of global tourist arrivals.

You might also like

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time